THE WORLD AROUND OUR TABLE

 

We just had an international visit and I really enjoyed it! Five people from five countries: Singapore, South Africa, Brazil, Albania and Germany. All part of the OM Logos Hope ship's crew, or rather ship's community. So many cultures and such a palpable unity and love! Not that they always have it easy or everything runs smoothly. But they take care of each other. We had a great time together and a lot of fun. Leo, the Brazilian, even gave me and the kids a dance lesson so we can dance in Brazil this summer! (We'll see!) I really like the Brazilian culture and I'm looking forward to our trip! And that we will soon have our own Brazilian in the family! That's the beauty of getting to know different cultures and people: you see God's diversity and colorfulness. What will heaven be like? How beautiful is Jesus, our Bridegroom, who has all the positive qualities and characteristics? As happy as a Brazilian, as reliable as a German, as spontaneous as an American, as passionate as an Italian, as relaxed as an African, as polite as an Asian, ... These are all stereotypes, of course. But Jesus unites all cultures. He's not just a Jew. And in heaven all the positive aspects will shine because Jesus will also make us perfect. There will be no more cultural misunderstandings. No more sensitivity, no more faux pas, no more being offended. Pure joy and delight! Praising and celebrating God. Reigning and serving. Being filled with His love in fellowship with God Himself. How beautiful that must be!

This visit was a taste of heaven. It's amazing to see how much the team loves Jesus, their co-workers, and other people. How Tim has learned that cleaning the toilet below deck is not a punishment, but a service that helps others do a land mission and is just as important. What kind of leaders are they going to be when they learn this at such an early age? I wish I had gone on an OM ship when I was a young woman! (And I'm happy that our youngest daughter will soon be able to experience this adventure!) It seems to me to be a very good character school.

I enjoy the fact that this is a new phase in my life and that I am not only allowed to work below deck, but also on deck. That I can sail safely through life in His grace, even if it is not always easy. And that I also learn to accept correction. This is very important on a ship and in life. Just recently, three times I have been rightly criticized. And I was even able to accept it without resistance! One friend sharpens another like iron sharpens iron, that's what a team is for. And how should I be able to do everything right? It's good when friends remind you what's right, when you wouldn't take things too seriously. Either they said it especially nice this time, or I learned not to take myself so seriously. But maybe it's God's grace that wraps me up like a cloak. No one can take away the joy of my salvation, not even my own self-doubt! I belong, even if I make mistakes. What a deal! My heart is dancing.

 

The world around our table
The world around our table

 

All of you nations, come praise the Lord! Let everyone praise him. 

God´s love for us is wonderful; his faithfulness never ends. 

Shout praises to the Lord!

Psalm 117:1-2 (CEV)