FLIGHTTRAINING

 

This morning, I read Moses' song about God's faithfulness. It says that God supports His children like an eagle teaching its young to fly. He lures them out of the nest, even if they can't fly yet - you have to learn somehow - and flies underneath them. When they fall, he catches them with his strong wings. I think that's really cool. A bit like learning to swim. But way cooler. And scarier. It takes a lot of courage - from the kids and the parents. I want to be a brave and supportive eagle mom too! Because that's what is needed right now. One of our daughters is in Brazil and we are helping her and her husband (they are getting married soon) to move to Austria this summer. It will be exciting with visa, finding work and an apartment and we really hope that everything works out just fine! The other daughter is on her way to Africa for a year on a mission ship after graduating from high school. There are still many vaccinations and preparations to be made. Flight training with the support of mom and dad! Sometimes big children are very grown up and sometimes they need extra support and care. But it's not just because of their age. I feel the same way. Sometimes I'm in a super good mood and I get a lot of things done effortlessly. And sometimes I can't get anything done and I need help. The question is, do I ask for help, and do I accept it? That would be good. And I'm also happy when my kids ask for help.

I wonder if God feels the same way about me? "Tell me if you need help! Why are you trying so hard? Why don't you come to me and let me help you?" Sometimes it takes me a long time to admit that I need help. That something is out of my control and out of my power. Sometimes it would be good to realize that more quickly. To recognize my own limitations and inadequacies. And to accept that.

For example I can't design anything on the computer. I immediately ask for help and I'm not ashamed of it. Noone can do it all! But lately, through experiences and novels that fit together in an interesting way, I have discovered that it can also be experiences and imprints from childhood that make us overreact to a situation, for example. Where the child in us is hurt because it was overwhelmed by a situation. And where it is good to allow feelings and admit weaknesses.

And to realize that not only then, but now, a loving eagle God flies beneath me, catching me when I fall. God's love and grace are always greater than all my failures and hurts. His mercy protects me from others and from myself. Heals my past, present and future.

 

 

The Lord was like an eagle teaching its young to fly, always ready to swoop down and catch them on its back.

Deuteronomy 32:11