LEARNING

 

How time flies and things change! My son tested me on Portuguese vocabulary and verbs lately for my A1 level test. I used to do the same in English and Italian for him for many years. Now he is the one who motivated, encouraged and corrected me. What a blessing!

My children are all grown up now. I am amazed at what they already know and understand. What kind and mature persons they are. In some ways, I feel they are more mature than I am. There was a time in my life when I did not make much progress. And then again there have been periods when a lot happened very fast. Growth in phases. Now I have time to dream again. I can do things slowly and consciously, not as fast as when I was a mom of little kids. I feel much more alive. I want to enjoy this phase. Savor life, my strength and my gifts. Bear fruit. It's summer! I don't know for how long. But I don't need to know that. I want to celebrate my opportunities gratefully. I feel comfortable in my own skin. I like my daily routine, which is a bit like school: Long Bible readings (I changed to a new translation). A bit of cleaning or laundry. Deciphering the bible verse of the Day in Hebrew (#learnwhatyoulove). Writing on my new children's novel. Cooking. Taking a nap. Tobogganing or going for a walk with my husband. Baking bread. Reading a novel. Philosophizing with my children. Planning, dreaming, thinking. If it has to be, going shopping. Watching a short crime series.

I also love to prepare devotionals or sermons. I learn so much doing it. And I like to be on stage. Because I like to pass on what I've learned. And that's where you can, on stage. In conversations, preaching isn´t a good thing to do. I would rather like to continue to learn being a better listener.

I wonder what level you could rate my listening abilities by now? A1? It would be interesting if you could also take a course and a test in listening, like in Portuguese! That would be a challenge! But intensive Bible reading also helps. Maybe this is my course on listening? Hearing God's Word, hearing with the heart, is the most important thing to listen to anyway!

And learning to love. What level am I at in this most important subject? Better than ten years ago. After all. I'm not good, but things are looking up. Sometimes there is a spark of love in me that surprises me. That makes me extremely happy. I guess that's the Holy Spirit in me making waves. It feels good.

God is good!

 

The sun is back into the living room!
The sun is back into the living room!

 

You show me the way of life.

My joy is satisfied in you!

You give pleasure that lasts.

Psalm 16:11

(own translation from Hebrew)