IMMANUEL

 

Only two days till Christmas! Final preparations are being made. My neighbors clean the stairwell and put the last Christmas decoration up. The shops are full, and the fridges will soon be too. It is gigantic that so many people around the world celebrate Christmas at the same time. A collective contemplative birthday party which is prepared for a whole month! I'm not really the party guy, but I like Christmas. If it's not overloaded with expectations and pressure. Just Christmas.

A highlight in our family are our kid's creative poems, pictures and joke collections they do for Christmas. That´s poetry slam at its finest, things to think about and laugh at. Just for a short time. But so amazing!

I didn't buy any presents this year that aren't really needed. A few packages of things that are useful have come together anyway. But without stress.

I like a simple Christmas. Because it used to stress me out so much. The celebration has puffed up and it's good to let the air out. Jesus the Savior is here. Fear no more! Jesus helps. In everyday life. And at Christmas. I am loved! When I make mistakes. And when I'm tired. I'm allowed to relax. Even when I have things to do. But my life doesn't depend on it. I'm learning to take what comes. Rejoice at the fairy lights. And fold laundry. To have days when so many beautiful things happen that it's almost too much for one day. And days with headaches when nothing goes on. Every day Jesus is with me, my Immanuel.

A baby, a king, a shepherd and a lamb. The Counsellor, Hero, Father and Prince of Peace. Wonderful, strong, always.

That's what I want to celebrate.

 

 

For a child has been born - for us! the gift of a son - for us!

He´ll take over the running of the world.

His names will be:

Amazing Counselor, Strong God, Eternal Father, Prince of Wholeness. 

His ruling authority will grow, and there will be no limits to the wholeness he brings.

Isaiah 9:5