CREATING SPACE

 

In the last two weeks I have experienced a few moments with art that have nourished my heart.

My friend Janneke has written a course book on how to take care of living a balanced life. In doing this course, I realized that although I am doing quite well in some points (silence before God, organization, work, rest), other points like friendships, body, and soul could get more attention. Janneke gives each day of the week a different focus so that everything is covered, and life has a healthy rhythm. She encourages others to play with their own rule of life to find out what suits them.

That's when I decided to feed my soul with art and beauty more consciously. I want to nurture my soul and sensitivity. Looking at a piece of art or listening to a street concert is a good start. But when I was on a short vacation in Vienna, I went to the “Albertina” with a friend. There are beautiful and famous pictures. How is it possible that these originals have such a special effect, very different from the same motif on the Internet? At first, I just looked at the pictures. Cézanne, Degas, Kokoschka. Beautiful. But then Pechstein's iris image woke me up in its intensity. And right next to it, a village at sunset by Monet: Shadow and light, that summer evening mood! It was like I could feel the warm and cold air, could hear the crickets. The mountain was alive, and I was in the picture. This work of art touched my heart. I tried to take a picture of it, but it looks boring on my phone. I stood in front of this picture for a while, and it made me happy. Made my heart sing. I didn't know that art could fill you up. I looked at the next canvases with an open heart and Nolde's pictures touched me just as much.

In the afternoon we went to a street café and right next to us three students unpacked their instruments: a cello and two violins. First they played the four seasons of Vivaldi, really beautiful. But then! A piece by Bach that grounds in its straight cello bass line and gives lightness in the playful violin. Happiness that vibrates right into the heart. What enjoyable three minutes!

Shortly after that I found myself at the very top of the “House of the Sea”: it offers a tremendous view over the city with an impressive glass balustrade. I went right to the edge (my girlfriend was too scared) and enjoyed the high-altitude rush. I almost felt like flying! Then we went inside of the tower to watch the sharks, turtles, crocodiles, and beautiful fish! After all those experiences in one day, my heart was full and tired. Art and culture in high density - I had a lot of catching up to do! I want to take time and create space for such experiences more regularly.

Speaking of creating space: The other day I found a good quote in a book by Henry Nouwen: "Discipline does not mean that I should make it as difficult as possible for myself, but that I create the inner space in which God can reach me with his all-transforming love." Making room for God's love... The biggest obstacle to this is fear, he writes. "The more anxious we are, the fuller our lives become, and the harder it becomes to maintain a space for God where something new can emerge."

Discipline of the heart helps to find Jesus in the hidden spaces. To find Jesus in my heart.

A rhythm of life can help to make room for that kind of experiences.

God has so many ways to touch our hearts. Art is one of them. Our five senses in combination with feelings are a miracle. God has placed something of Himself in every human being. Creativity is a way of expressing and experiencing God's love. We are sensual beings and God wants to touch our hearts and give us joy.

 

Wald, Emil Nolde, 1909, Albertina Wien
Wald, Emil Nolde, 1909, Albertina Wien

 

Keep vigilant watch over your heart; that´s where life starts. Proverbs 4:23 (MB)

 


You can find Jannekes blog and books here:

https://theworldaroundmytable.com/