IT WILL BE GOOD

 

I'm a mom. And my eldest child (really grown up now, not only in terms of age), is going to Brazil in a few days for a whole year. Many people ask me how I feel about it. And I don't know yet. I'm happy with her, looking forward to all the adventures she will experience. I feel that she is ready to leave the nest. But I don't know yet what it will really be like when she's gone. We will probably miss everyday things. No more clothes on the edge of the bathtub. No more turquoise Bible and charging cables on the living room table. Her laughter and endless discussions.

Our family will change more often in the next few years and at some point, it will only be my husband, me and the cat. Having teenagers was really fun. I was able to enjoy this phase much better than the toddler phase. But I'm looking forward to the new phases also. Adventures with my husband. Adventures with girlfriends. Adventure alone. And at some point, children-in-law and grandchildren. Exciting.

I'm freer now than I used to be. Nobody starves to death if I don't cook. All of a sudden, they survive without me. And that's good. They go their own way. Although nowadays you can call each other anywhere in the world. Which doesn't always have advantages. But an ocean apart definitely brings a lot of distance.

Nevertheless, you always stay a mom, that´s what I observe in other mothers. Let's see what kind of mother I´ll be. I am a mama herder who is also a baby sheep herself. Stumbling my way. Sometimes I stop and look back. And I wonder what I've already achieved, how far I've come. God has changed me. Many things have been made whole and holy in my life. God got me further than I dreamed. Gave me serenity and joy. I can even listen relatively well by now; I was amazed yesterday. I've come a long way! It's good to see that. To be grateful. And curious about what else is possible. What else I can learn and discover and grow and experience.

To enjoy the present. I have everything I need.

And to look forward to tomorrow. God is who He will be.

I see and recognize what He shows me of Himself now. But there's so much more. It never gets boring with him. Not even in heaven. That's when it really starts. Exciting thing!

I won´t see a lot of countries, I won´t make big careers, I won´t meet many people, I won´t have the coolest experiences. And yet there are so many great things in my life. I don't have to seize everything, be the best mom. Don't need to skydive and visit the Niagara Falls before I die.

I'm here now and excited to see what's next.

And it will be good.

 

 

This resurrection life you received from God is not a timid, grave-tending life. 

It´s adventurously expectant, greeting God with a childlike "Waht´s next, Papa?"

God´s spirit touches our spirits and confirms who we really are: Father and children.

And we know we are going to get what´s coming to us - an unbelievable inheritance!

We go through the hard times with him, then we´re certainly going to go through the good times with him!

Romans 8:15-17 (MB)