THE DISCO YACHT

 

We spent four days in Italy at a campsite. Finally beach, sun, sea and the sound of waves again! The campsite was on a peninsula between the sea and a lagoon, which was great. We enjoyed the days by the sea very much. The nights sometimes not that much. A few noises were actually very nice: Since the campsite borders directly on a nature reserve, there were a lot of different birds. Some bird calls we have never heard before! It was almost like being in the jungle! And you can hear everything in a tent. The first two nights we were annoyed by an alarm that went off in the middle of the night. Until we realized that it was a bird screaming so regularly! It didn't bother me so much anymore then. But the last night was really annoying because a disco yacht was on the way in the lagoon. Between three and four o'clock in the morning the boat slowly went up and down and the wind carried the music into the tent, sometimes more, sometimes less. I was annoyed and saw myself throwing small stones at the yacht. No, of course I didn´t. I was hoping that the water police would come and put an end to the hustle and bustle. But it didn't. Then I prayed, "Lord, send righteousness!" That's just not fair, I want some sleep! I was angry. All of a sudden, there was a strong wind noise. Like a hurricane brewing! I was really scared! What is God up to? That's not what I meant! Quickly and vehemently I prayed: "Stop! Stop! That's not what I meant!" I was afraid of God's righteousness. Who can stand before his court? When He provides justice, it's it the end for all of us! The whole campsite would be swept away! "Send mercy on us!" I pleaded with a strong inner voice. "Pour out your grace on the disco boat!" And immediately the roar and rustling in the trees was silent. The disco music not yet, but I was too relieved and grateful to be angry about it. God's peace has come and I fell asleep.

I want to be careful about praying for justice. I'd rather pray for mercy! Always.

 

 

I knew you were sheer grace and mercy,

not easily angered, rich in love,

and ready at the drop of a hat to turn your plans of punishment

into a program of forgiveness!

Jonah 4:2