GOD´S WOMB

 

Interesting title! Let me explain what this picture means.

We have a devotional book, The Book of Mysteries, by Jonathan Cahn, a Jesus-believing Jew. And now that I can read and understand a little bit of Hebrew, the parables in this book make even more sense. I feel like I'm getting to discover more and more mysteries!

Today I'm going to tell you what I learned from day 142 in this devotional book because it touched me so much.

 

RECHEM means "womb" in Hebrew. New life is growing there, the most fragile being of all. The uterus provides protection, nourishment and security. The ideal conditions for new life and growth.

RACHAM means "mercy". Tender, deep compassion and love.

And racham is not only very similar to the word rechem. Originally, there were no vowel signs in the Hebrew script, which means that it actually is the same word, with the same origin (RCHM). It is really very closely related. God's mercy and womb is one and the same word!

And now it gets interesting: Do you remember the conversation between Jesus and Nicodemus at night? Jesus explains to Nicodemus that one must be born again in order to go to heaven. "Can an adult re-enter his mother's womb to be born again?" asks Nicodemus. Of course not. But there is a womb that we can enter: God's RACHAM: the womb of his mercy. God's love, mercy and compassion tenderly carry us through our lives. It holds us, nourishes us, and protects us. When I enter into this love and grace, accept God's mercy, then there are these ideal conditions for the growth of God's children. I am formed into His image and grow into becoming the child of heaven I am called to be!

God's mercy (RACHAM) is the womb (RECHEM) for my new birth. Every birth needs a womb. And the womb of our new birth is God's loving mercy.

 

Nicodemus, as a Jewish teacher, was certainly aware of this connection. Jesus actually challenges him to accept God's mercy instead of trying to be righteous on his own. Love instead of religion. It takes humility to accept God's mercy like a helpless embryo.

Imagine that! As children of God, we are safe and enveloped by God's mercy, like being in a womb! We can live and grow in it. That´s where we are protected and cared for!

What will it be like in heaven when we are born agein there? Certainly very different from the womb! So much brighter and more colorful, so much space! All senses will awaken and experience completely new things.

Ok, I can't imagine that now. But I feel quite comfortable with the thought that God's womb is enveloping me right now. Soft and cuddly, yet stretchy and comfortably. Such a protected bubble in this dangerous world.

Living in his mercy amidst all failure and learning. My own and that of others.

God's mercy envelops me like a soft buffer!

 

 

This is what the Lord says - your Redeemer, who formed you in the womb:

I am the Lord, the Maker of all things.

Isaia 44:24 (NIV)