SHALOM

 

I've been sick in bed for almost a week now. And I'm still weak. But today I want to slowly find back to normality again. Enough of lying around! Doing nothing is no fun anymore. But sometimes there is no other way. I'm so grateful again for simple work I can do at a slow pace. It's so much more fun to clean the toilet and the bathroom than to waste away on the couch with instagram. After all, that's a nice realization! And a clean result. And although I only cleaned with half my strength and effort and speed, it didn't take twice as long. And I´m so glad I did it! This sense of achievement is good for me right now. I'm still sick, but the physical rest has already depressed me.

What also helps me in a situation like this, is to accept the fact that life has tides, again and again. Now it's low tide. I don't get much done. But that's ok. I'm missing out on a lot. But the tide will rise again and then I can ride the waves and enjoy what God washes at my feet. Then I'll meet people again and get things done and go on adventures!

I'm also really looking forward to walks in the forest again. So much happens in a week in spring! I wait and practice patience. And try to wait sensibly. Instagram, Youtube and the latest releases from the library don't fill my soul. Reading my Bible, my sinus-plagued head is not really concentrated, but it is nourishing anyway. Life has been on pause and the fog is slowly clearing. Heal me, Lord! I long for your shalom. Did you know that shalom means not only peace, but also health? Health for body and soul. Being whole. Being healed. That's what I long for. More and more.

 

 

Whenever we´re sick and in bed,

God becomes our nurse,

nurses us back to health.

Psalm 41:3