BIRDS

 

I like the sound of rain. It reminds me of grace, rest and security. The colors outside are more intense when everything is wet. The wood is darker, the leaves shine brighter. Especially in autumn. I am watching a pair of blackbirds in front of my window right now, as they are picking blue berries off the creeper. Not so long ago, there were thousands of small inconspicuous flowers that attracted swarms of bees. Now the blackbirds are happy that the bees were so busy and are harvesting the fruits of their work. Fruits I can't do anything with. But it's nice to watch the bees first and the birds now. The blackbird I´m watching carefully takes a berry into his beak, puts his head back and swallows. Then he looks if there is any danger nearby and continues snacking. Good thing the cat always sleeps in the mornings! All the more so when it rains.

Now a robin is here, too, pecking in the grass for the berries the blackbirds have dropped.

Do birds like rain? After all, it is easier to find earthworms. Such feathers are really ingenious! Certainly better than our rain jackets. Has anyone ever thought of making a coat out of feathers? Apart from Papageno? But then you would have to take as good care of the feathers as a bird does. And being able to puff yourself up. At least, I can sing. This afternoon I will even do it in the rain, at a street concert. Then I will remember the blackbirds! I'm also dressed in black. Also praising God in the rain. I am even thankful for the rain. Well, let's see if I still see it that way this afternoon! But maybe someone will be happy when they hear us singing, just lilke I enjoy the blackbirds. Perhaps it touches a sad heart. Music can transport God's love much deeper than words alone. And I hope my little stories do the same. In any case, the blackbirds outside my window cheer me up. Right now, the blackbird -Daddy stretches to a hard-to-reach vine, picks one berry after another and almost loses his balance every time! A flap of wings always helps. So funny!

Now my birds are gone again. What are they going to do for the rest of the day? Jesus told us to look at the birds. They do not sow. They do not harvest. And yet our Heavenly Father provides for them. They eat, they sing, they fly, they play, they sit on a branch and watch. In any case, it doesn't look like they're worried. Or as if they were annoyed by the rain. They are carefree and enjoy themselves. They do not collect food, like bees do. They always find something to eat. (If people don't use too much poison and kill the insects. But that's another story.) God cares for the birds. They live simply. They have everything they need without accumulating stuff. Only when offspring come, they have to do some work it seems. But when the kids grow up, they have time to rest and play again. Maybe one of the blackbirds I´m watching right now is even the chick I rescued this spring and came back with his partner?

 

 

Look at the birds, free and unfettered, not tied down to a job discription, careless in the care of God. 

And you count far more to him than birds.

Steep your life in God-realitiy, God-initiative, God-provisions.

Don´t worry about missing out. You´ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met. 

Matthew 6:26 + 33