LETTING GO OF PRECIOUS

 

I'm doing better and better in trusting God. When would he ever have let me down? When things get tough, I remind him of his promises. (Actually, I remind my anxious heart of His promises!)

My Mom is His child, and he Is her good shepherd. She has been in the hospital for six weeks now. How much did we think about and organize her future care! And now she is suddenly well again! Of course, she is still weak, but from one day to the next she is back! What a gift! What a miracle!

All the worries were actually in vain. But we know now that we need to take better care of Mom and that we need to change her living situation. Growing old also means letting go. So many things have accumulated over a lifetime and treasures become ballast. Especially - but not only - as you get older. It's good to practice letting go early. What do I really need now in order to live well? What is a burden to me, although it has great value? I don't want to attach my heart to things!

"Love people, use things" is a saying that shocked me when I first heard it. Could it be that we sometimes do it the other way around? What a terrible thought!

I have to laugh when I think about what my Mom said a few years ago when she threw herself on the sofa with the kids and I asked her to be more careful so that nothing breaks: "Then it shouldn´t have become a sofa!" Yes, things are there to be used, to be lived. Things are meant to serve us, not us to serve them. Gollom in Lord of the Rings clearly shows what effect a "precious" can have!

Because where your treasure is, there your heart is also...

Collect treasures in heaven and not on earth...

Our time in heaven will be much longer than that on earth. Yet we can experience and practice eternity even now. We can learn and train for our life as high priests. We will reign with Jesus! The richest king in the universe is our father and we are his heirs! Even Queen Elizabeth was poor compared to that. We are heavenly royal children and it is ridiculous to cling to fake riches. Riches that do us no good if we cling to them.

 

I want to cling to Jesus and live a free life.

 

 

Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions.

Don't worry about missing out. You´ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met.

Give your attention to what God is doing right now, and don't get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow.

God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.

Matthew 6:33-34