SUNSHADES

 

We have a marquee over our terrace, which is right in front of the window that faces my desk. A band of hanging cloth is on the edge of this awning even if it is pulled in. The first years we lived here I never even noticed this little part of fabric but a few years ago I started to roll it up and fix it with some cords, once summer is over. And that makes it so much brighter in here! A little piece of fabric – much impact on the room! I can see a sky twice as big now! It´s hard to believe but it is so uplifting! It's as if I just took off my shield cap on a hike and see the surroundings much better now. More light coming into my eyes and into my soul.

When I sit at my desk and write, I sometimes look at the sky as much as I do look at the screen. And that's a good thing! Writers need to think and dream and pray. No matter in which order because it´s seamless. For me, it all belongs together and changes at its own pace. A prayer becomes a daydream and my brooding becomes a prayer. God is here, heaven always in front of me. Good thing I removed this sunshade!

Are there any sunshades in my inner life as well? Shades that may have been helpful and protective in another season of life, but are now narrowing and depressing? We get used to things so easily, things that could be improved simply by removing them. Some small changes have such a big impact! They open new perspectives. I want to lift my gaze and look into the distance, not just at this little world right in front of me.

 

"Your eyes are windows into your body. If you open your eyes wide in wonder and belief, your body fills up with light. If you live squinty eyed in greed and distrust, your body is a musty cellar. If you pull the blinds on your windows, what a dark life you will have!"  (Matthew 6:22-23)

 

Since I know this text from the Message Bible, I sometimes raise my eyebrows - and then squinch my eyes in contrast. Give it a try! You can feel how the mood changes! When I open my eyes wide, my eyebrows raise, the corners of my mouth pull upwards and I am automatically happier! However, when I pinch my eyes, my eyebrows come together, my jaw tightens, and I feel depressed.

I want to look into the world like a child at Christmas: full of wonder and hope! God is here. And he is far better than Santa Claus. What presents will I get today? What unexpected help will help me with my problems? Which way will he show me that I have overlooked? Even if it goes through a dark valley longer than feared, what good is it to squinch my eyes and assume the worst? God knows the way. I trust him. I want to lift my eyes, wait for miracles and go forward courageously. I want to look at the horizon with hope and not look down at my own feet, stumbling with fear. Away with the shades! Let the light shine in! Especially now that autumn is coming with winter right on its heels.