JOY AND SORROW

 

Highlights from our holiday in Greece:

Snorkeling in a colorful school of fish. Sitting in a fancy beach bar, looking at the turquoise sea and listening to music. Eating fish in a rustic restaurant. A spontaneous visit from friends who happen to be in Greece at the same time and camp two nights in the orchard of our accommodation. Lying in the hammock under yucca palms in the garden. Serendipitously discovering stairs at the cliffs that lead 50 meters into the depths, then swimming and diving in caves in the Smurf blue water. Enjoying the warm wind. Just looking up at the sky and having time. Walking on the beach at night and seeing the white wave foam glowing in the moonlight. Listening to the waves.

I would have loved to stay longer!

But there were also hard things on vacation: a very sick child and a missing cat (both are fine again). And: a suddenly demented mom (temporary or permanent).

That's a big one. How do you take good care of your mom?

There is a lot to organize, and the future is uncertain. But in the middle of all this, there was a moment when I could hand her over to God's hands. He is her shepherd and her Savior. He is responsible for her. He knows the path she has to take.

I want to help her and make sure she is taken care of. But I don't have to suffer with her. Don´t have to feel her fear. (This is tricky for me because I am sensitive.) Jesus is the one who bears her suffering and fear. Who is really close to her because he lives in her heart. It's so good to know that!

And in all this pain there comes the surprising news that I can already revise my second book, with many good tips from the editor. Such joy! I can't wait to get started!

Joy and sorrow, so close together. It works. My heart is at peace because I know that He is in control and that pain is part of life.

 

 

To rejoice is not a betrayal of other people's suffering. But: I stay turned to life. Remain turned to God. Stay turned to the other. (Veronika Smoor)

 

Our heart is full of suffering and yet we constantly experience new joy.

2 Corinthians 7:10