GRACEWOOD

 

I just had an experience of reconciliation once again – praise the Lord! Injuries happened on both sides, frustration and anger, speculations, the full program. And while it's definitely good to talk about it honestly, it would often be better to let the conflict cool down a bit and think about it before. "What exactly happened? Why do I feel this way?" Which unfortunately I did not. I recently read that judging and criticizing are a mirror. Every time you judge someone, you reveal a part of yourself that needs healing. And I think that´s also true for the other side: when I overreact to general criticism, feel immediately addressed and hurt. There is something in me that needs healing. It´s a good start if I recognize and admit that. I can think and pray about it. Ask God to bring things into the open and heal. Both parties.

Grace is my favorite word. And I meet it everywhere! As if God wanted to remind me in as many ways as possible that He is gracious! With me. With the other. With us.

My favorite place is Gnadenwald (Gracewood). There really is a town nearby called like that! I love being in the forest and on the mountain there. A whole wood full of grace! I can go for a walk there, can bathe in the forest!

Waves always remind me of God's grace, too, because of the phrase in the Message Bible: "Learn the unforced rhythms of grace." I can almost hear the sound of the sea. And last week I read a novel about a sailing trip in the Caribbean. The book described the experience so well, I could almost feel the sweat and salt on my skin! The sailboat only gets its name at the end of the story: "State of Grace". It´s a place and a condition! I am in a state of grace. I am under grace. I sail by grace and under the flag of grace. I am in grace. I bathe in grace. Because that's what I need! Every day. For me and for others. And his grace and love never stop! Grace is my favorite theme. And God keeps reminding me of that.  

 

 

"But sin didn´t, and doesn´t, have a chance in competition with the aggressive forgiveness we call grace." Romans 5:20

 

Psalm 136: "His mercy never quits."