WAIT AND HOPE

 

Now it got me too. Today is quarantine day 8. But I have to admit that it's not as bad as I thought. After all, I now have a room to myself, with desk, laptop, tea... and above all: with a wing chair and lots of books! I got the armchair out of the living room, it is now in the middle of the bedroom, and you can't get past it, but that doesn't bother me. Most of the time I sit in it anyway. I snuggle up in my knitted blanket, pull my legs under my buttocks and lean against the wings of the chair. Just like on God's lap. And there I can read my Bible, novels, non-fiction and spiritual books for hours and dive into other spheres. Every now and then a nice family member brings me tea. Even sandwiches and homemade food are served to me at my desk. Meanwhile, I am also back in the kitchen again - with a mask. But I didn't miss cooking. I miss the forest. And hugs. But I'm glad I'm so frugal. And it helps that the whole thing has a time limit. After ten days at the latest, this quarantine will come to an end.

 

Unfortunately, other crises do not have an expiration date. How long will there be war in the Ukraine? It's hard for me to imagine when you have to decide whether or not to flee with your family into another country. Others don't know how long it will take to beat the cancer in their body. Or how long their child will suffer from mental health problems. We just don't know. Compared to that, quarantine is a pleasant ailment. Especially such a luxury quarantine, as mine! But even in my case, I'm glad to know when it's over.

 

When will Jesus return? Alarming things have been happening in the world those last years. Although many things repeat in history. Only our generation is not used to this and gets really shocked. We are spoiled. We thought we had everything under control and our biggest problem was to find a nice holiday resort. Well. Welcome to reality.

 

It's a good thing that behind this reality there is still God's reality. And it's much bigger and more real than what we see! Through the Bible and the Holy Spirit, we sense what is and will be. And sometimes we are allowed to take a look behind our world. It is totally comforting to being able to believe in God. He is huge and has everything in his hands. Including me. 

 

A look over the edge of the world (Camille Flammarion)
A look over the edge of the world (Camille Flammarion)

 

I wait for the Lord, 

my whole being waits,

and in his word I put my hope.

I wait for the Lord

more than watchmen for the morning,

more than watchman for the morning.

 

Israel put your hope in the Lord,

for with the Lord is unfailing love

and with him is full redemption.

Psalm 130:5-7