OUR BEST

 

I still can't leave other points of view uncommented. Sometimes I try hard and rejoice when it succeeds. But it´s quite an effort. It's as if my comment pushes to the surface, although I want to hold it back, like a geyser!

Some people choose things I don´t by conviction: eat meat from factory farming. Buy toilet paper from real trees. Buy expensive season tickets. Drink alcohol. Be against vaccination. Use disposable plastic.

I can get really excited about that. Although, of course, I know that I am still learning a lot of things too.

It is even worse when I give my opinion on parenting issues without being asked. Although I know that every child is different. And I'm not the one who has to get up every hour at night. Some things annoyed me so much in the past. And I wanted to do everything right. But everyone tries his or her best!

I have to be aware of that again and again. Everyone strives and wants to make good decisions. Financially, health-wise, familywise... Every situation is so different, every decision is based on so many facts and feelings. And I don't even know all my own motives, so what do I think to offer advice to others so quickly?

Christmas is also a time when you can expect too much from others (and yourself!). Everyone has a lot to do. Everyone forgets something. Everyone has special needs. One strives for harmony and peace and just wants to read his book by candlelight. The other is lonely and waiting for someone to notice and finally get in touch. Some have large family reunions with elaborate food and chic clothes. Others go skiing and just eat noodle soup for dinner afterwards. Everything is ok. The only important thing is that you be aware and respect your needs. Mothers are in danger of wanting to please everyone else and miss out for themselves. The right gift for everyone, great food, Christmas decorations, everything clean and tidy, a happy family... and then being in a good mood, nicely dressed up and relaxed? It's just too much. Especially because we women think we have to do everything ourselves. We can do it best. We know how to do it right… Let's get more help and accept it! Not only when we are at the end of our rope! It can also be good to have a plan B. I would like to prepare a special dessert for Christmas, but if it is too stressful in the end, there is also ice cream in the freezer. Or we can have cocoa.

My mom used to cook big meals at home, while my dad went on a special Christmas adventure trip with me and my brother. The three of us were always in the Christmas mood but my mom had stress at home to prepare everything and also to keep her mother-in-law entertained! I didn't want to do it that way later. We do the trip all together as a family! But nevertheless, I have already fallen into many traps and was often exhausted and disappointed at Christmas eve. (In Austria we do it all in the evening of the 24th, also the gift opening.)

Christmas doesn't have to be perfect! It's ok if there's no snow. If I'm tired. If not everything is clean. If not everything is ready. If I didn't manage to write Christmas cards.

The night Jesus was born was no different. No snow, a tired Mary, nothing prepared. Jesus comes to us, whether we are ready and holy or not. Especially because we are not ready and holy! How liberating. Jesus comes to help us. To bring us peace and quiet. To free ourselves from our guilt and our guilty conscience. To be close to us, so that we are no longer lonely. He comes and gives us exactly what we really need.

Let us be more compassionate with others and with ourselves. We do our best.

And we need Jesus.

 

 

Christ arrives right on time. He didn´t, and doesn´t, wait for us to get ready.

He presented himself for this sacrificial death when we were far too weak and rebellious

to do anything to get ourselves ready.

Romans 5:6

 

Be gentle with one another, sensitive.

Forgive one anther as quickly and thoroughly as God in Christ forgave you.

Ephesians 4:32