I HAVE IT ALL

 

Once again, the whole country is worried  and waiting for political decissions concerning Covid 19. This wave is the biggest we ever had so far and hospitals are coming to their limits.  We should have gotten used to the unplannability of our lives and the fact that we have no control of this situation. There may be another lockdown. But I already did learn how little it is I actually need. When my basic needs are met, I am fine. The love of my family. A warm home. Enough food. Health.

Sure, there are other things that would be nice, too: concerts, church events, Christmas markets, buying new shoes and Christmas presents. But I can do without.

Looks like all five of us will be working at home again this winter. In an appartement with fewer rooms than people. But even that will work out somehow. And I can always go into the woods and up the mountains. There is sun and snow. Books and a cat. Tea and chocolate and candles. I have everything I need! This panic before a lockdown is not helpful. Except that we need to support the hospitals so that they can help those with an emergency.

Winter feels like a lonely retreat again. Some friendships have also suffered greatly from the vaccination discussions. Everyone thinks he is right. I've certainly made mistakes, too. I just think that the vaccination offers a good chance of getting out of this crisis. And then it annoys me when others don't see it that way. But that's the way it is with advice: you have to be careful. Often, advice is just camouflaged control. You interfere with things that are none of your business. What is my business? What´s your business? And what´s God's business?  

Scientists are allowed to give medical advice to others. As a former nurse, I only have limited knowledge, especially as it is not my area of expertise. Probably we're all acting way too smart. It would be good to listen to those who really know their way around. Being a scientist and a politician is really a tough job these days! I have an easy job, just writing down my own thoughts. If someone asks me for my opinion, I like to say it. But then I have to let go of that. It is not in my hands (nor is it my responsibility!) what the other person does with it. This is liberating!  

I'm in control of only a few things. And it's just things that affect myself. What am I dealing with today? Which book do I read? What do I eat? Who can I encourage and how? What am I grateful for? How often do I check the news? How can I be a blessing? What can I enjoy without a guilty conscience and really savor?

The circumstances can be frightening and overwhelming. And the more I focus on the negative, the more powerful it becomes. I want to focus on Jesus! He has everything in his hands. He takes care of me and the world. He satisfies my soul. He is my source of light, hope and joy. I have it all! Because I have Him.

(I just heard that we really are going back into a hard lockdown...! But no panic! We can do it!)

 

 

"Honor his holy name with Hallelujahs,

you who seek God. Live a happy life! 

Keep your eyes open for God, watch for his works;

be alert for signs of his presence.

He´s God, our God,

in charge of the whole earth."

from Psalm 105

 

"Step out of traffic!

Take a long, loving look at me, your High God,

above politics, above everything." 

("Be still and know I am God.")

Psalm 46:10