ANCHOR AND EAGLE

 

I love parables! Trees, fields, sheep, treasures... The Bible is full of them!

Last week I took a closer look at two images from the Bible that seem to be contradictory: the anchor and the eagle.

One a symbol of security, the other a symbol of freedom. And both speak very much to my heart! We strive for both. And in Jesus, both are possible!

 

First, let me tell you what I learned about anchors: The anchor stands as a symbol of hope. The early Christians used this symbol as a secret sign, as there is also the cross in it. And it is precisely this cross that is our hope, what Jesus did for us. We are free from our sins!

An anchor is made to keep a ship safely in place (especially in a storm). But it is of no use if the anchor is only lying on board! It is of no use either if I cling tightly to the anchor! I have to drop the anchor overboard and let it go! This is the step of faith and trust that it takes from us, even if it is frightening.

But there is another catch to the story: it is of no use if we just throw the anchor overboard, it must also be attached to a rope or a chain! We should not simply throw hope overboard, but still hold on to faith!

And then it is very important where this anchor falls on and what it claws at: the ground, the rock that gives support, is Jesus! He is the reason for our hope! He also keeps our ship safe in storms. And I can trust Him.

 

Now to the eagle: The eagle stands for people who are waiting and hoping for God.

When I recognize how great God is, He provides supernatural power, Isaiah says.

I can sail, like an eagle. Think outside the box. Float above the nothingness of everyday life. Sail in His upswing.

When I fly in God's power, it is quite effortless because He creates the perfect flying conditions. He ensures the right thermals. I just have to spread my wings! And be attentive to where God wants to lead me, seek His thermals.

 

I once saw the painting of a man rowing full of power and not realizing that his boat is floating in God's hand. That's how it sometimes seems to me when I fight on my own!

I don't want to row against God's waves and His will. I want to accept His help!

And I don't want to be a stupid eagle and waste my energy by rising against the wind.

I want to be uplifted by God's thermals! Be free in him and yet carried by his wind, the Holy Spirit.

 

These images inspire me so much in creativity and hope!

I want to be anchored in the ground and float freely in the sky.

I want to let go of the right things and hold on to the right things.

I want to be guided by God: ride on His waves and fly in His upwind.

 

 

This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls.

It leads us through the curtain into God´s inner sanctuary.

Hebrews 6:19

 

But those who wait upon God get fresh strength.

They spread their wings and soar like eagles,

They run and don´t get tired,

they walk and don´t lag behind.

Isaiah 40:31