CLEANING

 

Since I have simplified the apartment more and more, I am cleaning more often. Those who know me better, know that my apartment is in fact always tidy, but that I do not like cleaning.

Especially floors. And the shower tray.

But I have more strength now than when the kids were little, and we own fewer things -  so cleaning is easier.

I have noticed that I often misjudge the time that passed. I actually need a list where I write down the date when something was cleaned. And those lists that I stick on the inside of the cabinet doors are getting more and more! I often think I've just done this recently, but lists don't lie: It's already been a week since the floor was cleaned. I do know that it is easier if you clean more often. And I´m doing pretty good in some areas. (It's not like our home is dirty. But everyone has their weak points. At least I hope so!) Blind spots where you don't look so closely. Intentionally or unintentionally.

We laid a new bathroom floor (it was Matthias who did it, but it was my idea, so we are a good team :)) and it looks great! But now the old shower tray looks even more shabby. I scrubbed it for over thirty minutes today, but there are still old stains. If I had always done a good job cleaning it, I wouldn´t have sore muscles now. And it´s still not white! I just found a trick with vinegar, baking soda and dishwasher tablets on the internet. I will try that later.

Cleaning is exhausting, but it's nice when it's clean. What is frustrating though, is that it only lasts for such a short time! You have to do the same work over and over again. It just won´t stay clean.

All the things we own and use need care and cleaning. (That speaks for owning less.)

 

What about my head and my heart?

My head is often so full that I don't even know what to focus on. I then pray that the Holy Spirit will guide me and highlight the thoughts that are important and on turn right now.

I can't really clean my thoughts. Or does this happen when I´m praying and reading my Bible? When I´m sleeping? Or going for a walk? When I pet my cat and enjoy the sun?

God can clean my heart. But he doesn't do that without my help. His light shines into my heart, bringing to light things that have long been in the dark. Things I've swept under the carpet. Things I'm ashamed of. False motives and lack of love. Which cleaner would help?

His blood. It makes me clean again and again. I need it regularly, even if it is enough that he shed it for me once. I am so glad that He forgives again and again. And that it's good that he's taking a closer look. I don't have to hide or whitewash anything before him. He knows me, knows everything, and loves me.

Sometimes I'm like a dirty toddler with a full diaper, smeared face, and sticky hands. But such children are no less loved. My caring Mom-God (yes, I am convinced that God is also a mother and not just a father) takes me into his arms without disgust or shame and makes me clean again, tenderly and lovingly. When I'm clean, I can go back to play. Even if I get dirty again.

Thank you God for not getting tired of cleaning me.

Thank you that your cleaner always works.

 

photo by Liissa Happel (#theizzywayoflife)
photo by Liissa Happel (#theizzywayoflife)

 

Think how much more the blood of Christ cleans up our whole lives, inside and out.

Through the Spirit, Christ offered himself as an unblemished sacrifice,

freeing us from all those dead-end efforts to make orselves respectable,

so that we can live all out for God.

Hebrew 9:14