LESS IS MORE

 

I´ve recently read a research about how our brain likes to solve problems by addition. It is much easier for our brain to add something than to subtract. Even if removing would be the wiser solution! Scientists told people to improve a little lego building. The roof of the house was instable because it was only fixed to one brick. But instead of removing the upper brick most of the people added another three bricks! Although they had to pay a small sum for it! Our brain prefers adding over removing. And you can spread that on other themes in our lives as well. Work, organizations…new problems cause new work teams, seminars, and equipment. But maybe it would be better to just remove or cancel something? I think this is a most exciting topic. For one I am interested in minimalism. And when you start going that way you soon recognize that it doesn´t stop with things but influences your whole life. (I remember the book I was reading recently: “There´s so much you don´t have to”)

Removing instead of adding is often very wise for our health, too. I found out that walking barefoot is much better for me than wearing my expensive health slippers. I feel my whole foot and try to balance my weight evenly. Because of my back pains I found out that a sturdy hard frame and mattress is better than an expensive high-tech product. And sitting on the floor is so much healthier than sitting in a relaxing chair. I like sitting cross-legged anyway and I recently started to combine my bible reading and my exercising: I sit on the floor each morning to stretch my legs and back while reading and meditating God´s word.
Reduction and simplifying is good for me. I´ve already learned that in some areas of my life while I haven´t even started to think about it in others.

I definitely prefer basics in my wardrobe and my kitchen. I like wearing the same turtlenecks all winter long. It´s easier to choose and I feel comfortable in it. And I like cooking easy and healthy meals from basic food without any preservations or additions. And no supplements. Basics.

And our spiritual life? More bible reading and less spiritual books. I want to read God´s basic words and listen to what the Holy Spirit is telling me. Of course I also like reading books. But the bible is definitely my basic food and my personal time with God is essential and more important than any other input.
It would be interesting to hear what God would suggest me to remove from my life. Where do I carry too much unnecessary things and make life more complicated than it is? Where have I just gotten used to things and habits?

When Jesus sent his disciples to proclaim God´s kingdom, he told them to not take any equipment or luggage with them. No food, no money, not even a second shirt. They didn´t need any equipment because God cared for them. Everything they needed was already inside of them. Jesus provided for everything they needed. And they could rely on him and trust him.

In Psalm 37 it says that loving and trusting God is much better than being rich because God cares for those who love him.
It takes courage to let go of things and trust God to provide for our needs.

And sometimes it also takes brains and effort to think differently.

Where is less more?

Where is letting go needed in my life?

There is so much freedom in trusting God´s care!
Let´s get rid of our ballast and live simply!

 

 

"Less is more and more is less." Psalm 37:16 (the Message)

 

"Don´t load yourselves up with equipment. Keep it simple; you are the equipment." Luke 9:3 (the Message)