MINDFULNESS AND CARE

 

Although I was trained as a nurse a long time ago, I was never the type of a nursing nurse, but rather the emergency type of a nurse. I was often not as attentive and careful in everyday life as I should have been. Same with housekeeping. I was often fast and rather superficial in dealing with people and things. And with myself.

Thank God I've learned something over the years and I'm becoming more and more aware of the importance of mindfulness. And care.

Last week my sister came for a visit. Her car had a breakdown midjourney on the six hours´ drive. Warning lights flashed and she had to stop. The car had to stay in a workshop and my sister continued her journey with a rental car. It later turned out that an important part was not broken, but heavily polluted. The car should have had a service earlier, then the breakdown would not have happened. Lack of care has cost more time, money and nerves than if she had taken good care of her car regularly and on time.

One of my kids has a very sensitive nose and tends to nosebleeds. That's why the doctor gave us an ointment and a spray years ago to care for the nose, especially in times of allergy, so that it does not get too dry and starts bleeding. Last week we all had a flu (-thank God it wasn't Covid  19!). Said nose had already bled slightly twice but we had only talked about the fact that it was absolutely time for spray or ointment so far. Until one evening it bled so much that it was frightening. We managed to stop the bleeding with tampons, ice and prayer, just as we started our way to the emergency room. Lack of care can be dangerous. Good care can prevent many diseases and emergencies.

Cars and noses... Breakdowns and emergencies that could have been prevented with care...

Care is also important in so many other areas of our lives: relationships and friendships. My soul and my heart.

How can I care for what I have and is important to me?

Minimalism definitely helps. I have to limit the amount of things I want to care for. Fewer items in the house mean less effort and care. And more appreciation.

People are more important than things. And there are also plants and animals that I want to take care of. My relationship with God takes time. My soul needs walks in the forest and time to think. All this is care that is important. I want to take care of my heart and take good care of it! Not only when a warning light flashes, or an emergency happens.

Mindfulness and care are things I want to practice in all areas of my life. I want to be care-full.

But even if I am aware of this now and I want to make improvements: I already know that I will fail again! I am not always mindful and careful. I make mistakes.

But I appreciate the act of caring so much more now. This everyday work of a nurse, a car mechanic or a room attendant. It is at least as important as the work of a surgeon or firefighter. Prevention is better than cure.

And if I am care-less again, thank God there will be help in case of emergencies!

Also in my relationships and also for my heart. It is never too late to get help! To be nursed back to health. God takes even better care of us than a mother for her children! He cares for us, like a good shepherd for his sheep! We are in the best of hands with him. He does not forget us or anything we need. He is attentive and careful. Always.

 

picture from:  Thoughts to make your heart sing, LLoyd-Jones und Jago
picture from: Thoughts to make your heart sing, LLoyd-Jones und Jago

 

Can a mother forget the infant at her breast, walk away from the baby she bore? 

But even if mothers forget, I´d never forget you - never. Isaiah 49:15

 

Blessed be God - he heard me praying. He proved he´s on my side; I´ve thrown my lot in with him.

Care for me; carry me like a good shepherd! Psalm 28:7 and 9