QUIET TIMES

 

It is quiet in a lockdown. Pleasantly quiet mostly. I sit at the desk and look out the window. Bright blue sky and still a lot of snow, even though the foehn, a warm strong wind in the Alps, melts it fast. Too much snow to go sliding recently, but good snow for skiing.

I am fine!

I do not miss anything. The pantry is full, there are beautiful glasses filled with biscuits, nuts, lentils, rice, ... And the house is so much easier to clean since I went minimalist. Especially the kitchen surfaces! Since the bread-cutting machine and the kettle are the only things that stay on the countertop, I can quickly wipe everything down! And a clean kitchen is especially important for us in the winter, because then the sun shines only into this room. That is why I sometimes choose to sit on the countertop in front of the window at noon and enjoy the sun. Or do the cooking or washing, while listening to bluegrass, conveniently just when the sun is lighting up this little room. Twice a week I bake bread, which goes fast while preparing a meal. Especially when it is so beautifully sunny in my kitchen. It was a lot of work to reduce my kitchen supplies and collect nice storage glasses, but it was worth it. (I recycle the used tomato sauce glasses, which are just the right size for my drawers, and this collection is fun because it is practical and sustainable.) I have also been washing my hair with rye flour for over a year and make my own deodorant. My sister discovered this and shared it with me. It works both simply and well! To simplify things makes me happy because they save time and energy and reduce stress. I am also happy if I can do something for the environment. We often make life unnecessarily complicated.

What do we really need? What is already there that we can use and savor? Can we enjoy our food and possessions? Share it with others? For this we need time and security. Love. We can relax in God's arms and in His care. There is enough.

The lockdown makes me go check what is in my closets and bookshelves. Are there any books that we have not read yet while the library is still closed? Long-not-worn garments that could lighten up my day? New recipes I wanted to try? Or do I even dare to invent a new recipe, with the foods that are already there? We could also watch old photo albums together or watch a slideshow on the laptop from our last family-holiday. Knit something with wool scraps. Write letters. Sometimes there are days when you have lots of time. But then there are also days when it goes round despite the lockdown. So much work on the computer, helping the kids, doctor's appointments, important phone calls, all at the same time. Life is sometimes one thing then another. But Jesus goes along. I want to enjoy the quiet times and use them for new things. And don't lose my head in the stressful times. I want to practice listening to God when it is quieter, so that I can get through turbulent times more easily.

 

 

The Lord is my shepherd. I have all that I need. Psalm 21:1

 

Make sure you don´t take things for granted and go slack in working for the common good; share what you have with others. Hebrews 13:16

 

 

Instructions for rye shampoo:

Put about 2-3 tablespoons of smooth rye flour in a narrow plastic cup, add some warm water and mix it with a fork until a smooth, shampoo-like dough is formed. Let it sit for 5 to 30 min, then wash your hair as usual (if necessary, add some more water). Rinse well.

I also use it as a shower gel before rinsing it, by taking it directly from my head on my body.

 

Instructions for Deodorant:

Mix 20 g of soda and 20 g coconut oil in a small bowl. (The proportion should be 1:1 so you could just use 1 ounce of each.) You could also refine it with some essential oil of your choice (but it is not necessary). Pour into a tiny jam serving jar. Apply like a cream in the armpits.

Depending on the surrounding temperature, the deo is solid or liquid! It is best applied if it has a soft, creamy texture, so store in a well-tempered place. It works super well and prevents unpleasant odours completely and reliably (but not sweating per se).