EXPECTATIONS

 

It is Christmas. And we do not get any visits this year. Our families and best friends live too far away for a short visit before the third lockdown begins in this country. It will be quiet holidays this year.

But there are still some things we are looking forward to doing: Excursions to the snow mountains around us. Sliding, ski tours. Reading. Watching movies. Playing games. In doing all this, however, there is also the danger that I will only have my pleasure and my convenience in mind. Although mothers are better protected from too much selfishness because you also have to cook, clean and wash the clothes during the holidays. But often, especially at Christmas, an expectation arises in me, which can only leave me disappointed. I want nice surprises, fun and harmony with the family. That everything works out as I wish.

That is not going to happen. I make mistakes, others make mistakes, the weather is not always nice, things are broken, there are misunderstandings. And then there is this virus... But perhaps all these are not only obstacles and problems, but also ways to grow.

How will we grow this Christmas? What are we going to learn? Where are we challenged?

I would like to consciously remind myself to look at Jesus, to let my soul be nourished and fed by him, not to expect and seek my happiness elsewhere.

And I want to remember being grateful. Grateful for what I have. Do not think about what Else I might be missing. I would like to have a nice new cardigan, but when I investigate my wardrobe, there are already some nice vests. I am pulling one out and I am consciously finding joy in it. I am fine. I have everything I need. And after a short time, a new cardigan would only line up with the others without standing out. There is no jacket that is and remains perfectly beautiful and comfortable. That gives you a good feeling in the long run. I want to be grateful for the things I already have.

My 5-year-old nephew has recently had surgery, it was only a minor procedure, but it took a little longer after the anesthetics until he felt his legs again and was able to walk again. We were so grateful when we heard that everything is good! One day you are worried that the child is struggling with numbers, and the next day you are just grateful that it can walk!

My girlfriend is busy tidying up. The worktop in her kitchen is slowly becoming visible again after years and I am proud of her! But I must be careful not to point out all the other things that she could clean up, but to celebrate with her what she has already achieved. Be grateful for what is good.

Also at Christmas. I want to learn to enjoy the small things. A cup of cocoa with a new book by my favorite author (I guessed that husband!) and a purring cat on my lap. A walk by the creek and a conscious look at the individual stones and leaves.

But also perceive other people. How they feel. Take my time to listen and look closely. For encounters with neighbors on the street. Not just looking at me, and how I can have it comfortable. The thing that best helps me here is to have time with God reading my Bible. His Word always hits the mark. Builds me up, motivates me, corrects me. But so that I can accept it and do not want to defend myself insulted. It softens my heart and changes me. Often, I do not even notice how God's Word resonates in me, but it affects my thoughts. It is alive and makes alive.

That is why I want to consciously take time to read the Bible during the Christmas holidays. That is just what my heart does best!

 

 

 

What God gives in love is far better than anything else you´ll find. James 4:5

 

I know what I am doing. I have it all planned out - plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for. When you call on me, when you come and pray to me, I´ll listen. When you come looking for me, you´ll find me. Yes, when you get serious about finding me and want it more than anything else, I´ll make sure you won´t be dissapointed. God´s Decree. Jeremiah 29, 11-13