REST

 

It´s December. Advent. Time to prepare for Christmas.

This year Advent is a little different, but I don't necessarily find it worse. Normally it is often so stressful and there are so many dates that simply got cancelled this year: no Advent concert with my choir (unfortunately), no performances of my daughter with the brass band, no parents' meeting at school, no concerts in the music school, no women's breakfast, no church meetings, the shops have closed... Now that I write it all down, I do miss it after all.

But this year is definitely quieter and not so stressful. More time at home, time with our own family.

And yet there is also a lot going on at home: Homeschooling often demands my support. Sunday services are done online and we speak and sing in front of the camera in advance to record it. My two girls have a birthday in Advent and this year, although it´s only the five of us, will be a big celebration too. (Krimi Dinner for the 19th birthday was great!) We go hiking and send Christmas presents and letters. Bake birthday cakes and Christmas cookies.

Enough action for me. And there is also time to rest.

Perhaps this Advent will be the most contemplative and calm ever?

It also helps that my children are already older and that I don't have to shop for so many small gifts anymore. Their desires and needs are more expensive now and so there will only be one big gift from the whole family. Less stress for me. Minimalism under the Christmas tree (air pods are really small practical gifts that don´t take up space!) ...

In recent years, I have always wanted to please everyone and satisfy everyone´s needs. And on Christmas Eve I was completely empty, burned out and frustrated.

Consumption and being busy are no substitute for worship and silence.

It are those daily moments of silence in God´s presence that give us rest, fill our souls and change us.

Jesus is my bread of life, so I don't have to stuff myself with Christmas cookies.

Jesus is Immanuel, God with me, who is always there, even when I am lonely.

He is the Savior and Redeemer of the world who loves me and wants to heal all my injuries. I just have to be quiet before him and face those hurts with him instead of rushing around anxiously.

He has promised to give us rest when we come to him. And that's what we need, especially in the Advent season. Rest from the Prince of Peace. Calm from him, who calmed the stormy lake with nothing but his word. Rest that he can also produce in me with only one word of him.

It's so good that we have many words from him and that we are allowed to read them!

I recently read some tips on how to find rest in Advent in a Bible reading plan:

There are four points that result in the word REST:

Remember, Express, Still, Trust.

-I want to remember how good God is and that He wants to give me the best gifts: love, forgiveness, hope, joy.

The names of God help me see how he is. (Immanuel, wonderful counselor, strong God, eternal Father, and prince of peace)

-I want to tell him what I need and that I just can't do it on my own. (Least of all to make everyone happy at Christmas.)

-I want to seek and accept his rest, let him give it to me.

-I want to trust him that the world keeps spinning and that he has everything under control, even if I take a break and do nothing. He's big and good. And I want to see what he does.

I want to look at Jesus every day this Advent.

Let´s not wait until New Year's Eve to start with good habits! We need this silence before God. Especially in Advent. Especially for me.

Take care of your soul and feed it with hope! Especially now in this Corona Advent.

We must take care of our hearts and feed it with good. Otherwise, we will not be a blessing to others.

Put on your own breathing mask before you help others! Fill up your own oil lamp and make sure you are shining and ready when Jesus comes! We do not want to be burned out and empty when we celebrate Christmas, when Jesus comes.

Let us take care of our heart and let it be stilled, healed and filled from Jesus!

 

Trust him completely. Pour out your heart before him. God is our refuge. Psalm 62,9

 

 

Recommendation: "All is calm. Receiving Jesus´ rest this Christmas". A 5-day devotional on the Youversion App.