RAINY DAYS

 

Cloudy autumn weather. Lockdown. Homeschooling.

One room too little, for five people who want or need to work on the computer.

If I don't get to write, I'm more busy in the household. When tidying up, it doesn't matter if you are interrupted in between, because you have to help with the chemistry homework. Or because it's time to cook or hang up the laundry... But: I like doing the household anyway. At least for a while. Then I have to write and read again and listen to podcasts! Otherwise I get swamped in my own little world and get depressed.

But such a mixture is quite okay. It's good that sometimes my husband has to leave his home office and the desk belongs to me! Alone in a quiet room...

In front of the window a wet garden with brown and yellow leaves. Only a few hydrangea flowers are still a bit pinkish. A grey sky. If only it was snow! But it's November rain.

I say to God that I would love to have a surprise.

Does He come up with a good idea for me, as I often do for my family? My children often need a little encouragement and I sometimes feel like an animator in a holiday resort. Not that it would be a bad job! It is often really fun to give them a little pleasure.

I just hope I don't run out of ideas. But the main thing is to love them and notice them. Being a mum is a bigger job than I expected! You think they're grown already, but the job as a mum doesn't stop. And now that we have so little social contacts, we have to pay particular attention to each other. Seeing and encouraging each other.

Sometimes that's too much for me with my friendships. I can't do that and I'm sorry. I am often not as attentive as I would like to be. But every now and then, the Holy Ghost reminds me of someone or something and then I can encourage somebody.

My world seems so small to me. I want to look up to Jesus and His great kingdom. I have siblings all over the world! And in heaven everything is even bigger!

I hope I don't lose the thread. Stay tuned and learn and grow. Also in a lockdown.

Look up in a Lockdown!

Even with such everyday things as vacuuming and doing the dishes. And learning chemistry and math. And playing bananagrams and watching movies. Preparing Christmas gifts. Going for a walk.

There are secrets to discover everywhere. It's just a matter of attitude.

 

Rain just doesn't help today...

 

"Encouragement is awesome. It has the capacity to lift a man´s or a woman´s shoulders. To spark the flicker of a smile on the face of a discouraged child. To breath fresh fire into the fading embers of a smoldering dream. To actually change the course of another human being´s day, week, or life." (Charles R. Swindoll)

 

"But God´s not finished. He´s waiting around to be gracious to you. He´s gathering strength to show mercy to you. God takes the time to do everything right - everything. Those who wait around for him are the lucky ones." Isaiah 30, 18

 

The sun eventually did come out a little bit later on!