HANG ON

 

Psalm 91:

„If you hold on to me for dear life“, says God,

“I´ll get you out of any trouble.

I´ll give you the best of care

if you´ll only get to know and trust me.

Call me and I´ll answer, be at your side in bad times;

I´ll rescue you, then throw you a party.

I´ll give you a long life,

give you a long drink of salvation!”

 

This psalm fell into my heart a few days ago.

I encircled in my bible, what is my part:

1. Hold on to God

2. Get to know Him

3. Trust Him

4. Call Him

 

Quite easy things to do. Or maybe not.

A little toddler comes to my mind – they know how to do these things with their Mommy (or Daddy) really good:

1. To hold on to her legs, no matter where Mommy wants to go, even if she has to go to the bathroom really quick.

2. Get to know her intensely, with all his or her senses. To watch her really close, put his or her fingers inside of her mouth,… to check out what is fun to her and where the fun stops…

3. Trust her. Mommy is always right and has everything under control. As long as Mommy is near, nothing bad can happen. They can also jump into her arms from a high distance.

4. Call her: when they need something, no matter if it is in the middle of the night, when they are scared, or when they are only bored…

 

That´s what God is expecting from us!

We can hold on to Him, get to know Him, trust Him and call Him.

And He gets us out of any trouble, gives us the best of care, answers, is at our side in bad times, rescues us, throws us a party, gives us a long life and a long drink of salvation.

Sounds good!

 

I know, not everybody has it as good as me. Although my right eye is still troubling me, my life is quite easy compared to others. Some people are really in desperate situations. Don´t know what to do. Worry for the life of their kids...

But God is at their side. He knows how the story ends. He has everything under control, even if we don´t understand it.

 

Hold on, get to know, trust and call.

I want to train that even when life is smooth sailing. I want to orient myself on God also with my small everyday problems. Then it will be easier when something heavy comes around.

Although I know that God won´t let go if we are not able to hold on to Him because we are exhausted and anxiously hiding in a dark corner. He won´t let go, He hears our cries and even our hidden sobbings.

But I am allowed to call Him and even more: He wants me to call Him and hold on to Him like a little child!

It gets hard, when I am stubbornly running away and know everything better.

 

So: no running away, shutting my ears, having fear and keeping still.

But: holding on, getting to know, trusting and calling.