ON THE WAY

 

I like traveling by train, as I am doing today.

I can read, have a nice snack, write…

But one of the things I like most about going by train is looking out of the window and regarding the landscape.

I can sit in a train for hours and it won´t get boring! 

 

Finally I take my eyes off the window and open up my bible.

Today it is psalm 84:

"How blessed all those in whom you live,

Whose lives become roads you travel;

They wind through lonesome valleys, come upon brooks,

Discover cool springs and pools brimming with rain!

God-traveled, these roads curve up the mountain, and

At the last turn – Zion! God in full view!"

 

I am so glad that God lives inside of me and that He is with me, wherever I go!

But this thought is new: my life is a road God travels? That sounds interesting.

In this sentence it is God who travels in my life, not me.

I wind through lonesome valleys, God refreshes and strengthens me with cool water along the way

(water is very important on a journey! I always need a lot of water to drink while travelling!)

And finally, at the end of my journey, I may see God.

 

NIV says it this way:

"Blessed are those whose strength is in you,

Whose hearts are set on pilgrimage.

As they pass through the Valley of Baka, they make it a place of springs;

the autumn rains also cover it with pools.

They go from strength to strength, till each appears before God in Zion."

 

My life is a journey.

I want to travel light but I also want to have all the necessities with me.

For this journey today, where I am going to visit my mum for three days, I took these following things with me:

I wear sensible shoes, comfortable classic clothes in several layers, and a scarf.

My valuables are in a little purse and everything else is in a little bag pack:

Two long and two short sleeves shirts, three garments of underwear and socks, my pajamas, toothbrush, comb, glasses and stuff for my contact lenses, two water bottles, a snack, my bible, a book and my laptop.

Not much.

Because I have to carry every item, I took as little as possible.

And if I do miss something, I can borrow it from my mum anyway.

 

What does my life journey look like? What am I carrying around? Which weight is on my shoulders?

 

“Come to me, all you who are wary and burdened, and I will give you rest…” says Jesus is Matthew 11,28.

Or as it says in the Message Bible:

 

"Are you tired? Worn out on religion?

Come to me. Get away with me and you´ll recover your life.

I´ll show you how to take a real rest.

Walk with me and work with me – watch how I do it.

Learn the unforced rhythms of grace.

I won´t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you.

Keep company with me and you´ll learn to live freely and lightly."

 

Yes, that´s what I want! I want to walk with Jesus, have him as my travelling companion.

I don´t want to be anxious and stressed, but to travel relaxed.

Be on the road without getting exhausted, enjoy the travelling, be curious. Watch Jesus and learn from him.

With a good-fitting back pack that´s not too heavy for me.

Live freely and lightly!

 

Psalm 84 has a nice ending too:

"All sunshine and sovereign is God,

Generous in gifts and glory.

He doesn´t scrimp with his travelling companions.

It´s smooth sailing all the way

With God-of-the-Angel-Armies."

 

Not only the goal of my journey, the heavenly Zion, where I may live together with God for all eternity, also the journey itself can be nice and smooth! It does take me through some lonely valleys and it is not without dangers…

but God is with me! He is my travelling companion!

The God-of-the-Angel-Armies is my travelling companion!

 

Yes, we have to carry our own back pack.

We have to learn a lot (which means that God is not surprised with us making mistakes) but:

He is with us. Patient, full of mercy, grace and tips.

I can watch how He does it. Where He wants to lead me to. In His pace.

I want to trust Him, who knows and understands me and loves me unlimited and endlessly.