CHEERLEADING

 

The daughter of a friend of mine does cheerleading.

Cheerleading is something I never liked. (Or maybe I have seen too many bad movies in the 80s and 90s.)

In my opinion Cheerleaders were naïve, sexy girls who adored and cheered the boys on the football field (and generally everywhere). I would never have done that!

If I was on a sport event, I would rather play on the field myself, not stand on the sideline only for decoration and cheering. The whole cheerleading thing was quite too anti-feminist for me. (I am a little bit of a feminist, but only because I think Jesus is one too. In terms of us being all equally worthy and God not putting us in boxes.)  

 

But Cheerleaders cheer others on. It is their job to encourage.

They are not the main actors, they are standing at the side.

When I see it this way, cheerleading is not that bad after all!

They lead the cheering: They encourage the spectators to cheer their team on.

 

I  do want to cheer my family on and encourage them to support others as well.

Maybe I can be a cheerleader after all, without losing my dignity…

Being content in cheering others on... That is something I can learn from cheerleaders for sure!

I want to see the good in others and encourage them!  

 

I even found a cheerleader-outfit in the bible:

Colossians 3,12:

So, chosen by God for this new life of love, dress in the wardrobe God picked out for you:

compassion, kindness, humility, quiet strength, discipline.

Be even-tempered, content with second place, quick to forgive an offense.

Forgive as quickly and completely as the Master forgave you.

And regardless of what else you put on, wear love. It´s your basic, all-purpose garment. Never be without it.

 

Ok, I don´t know if cheerleaders are humble or posssess quiete strength.

But the ideal cheerleader is like that: She wears God´s love and encourages others.

 

Matthew 23,11:

Do you want to stand out? Then step down. Be a servant.

If you puff yourself up, you´ll get the wind knocked out of you.

But if you´re content to simply be yourself, your life will count for plenty.

 

My life will count for plenty, if I am content to simply be myself!

I don´t need to improve myself. Lose weight. Be more polite. Be more fun. Be more interesting. Be the best.

Stand out from all the others so that they notice and adore me.

If I want to stand out, I need to step down and be a servant, Jesus says.

 

1. Thessalonians 5,14:

Gently encourage the stragglers, and reach out for the exhausted, pulling them to their feet.

Be patient with each person, attentive to individual needs.

And be careful that when you get on each other´s nerves you don´t snap at each other.

Look for the best in each other, and always do your best to bring it out.

Be cheerful no matter what…

 

Philippians 2,4:

Put yourself aside and help others get ahead. Don´t be obsessed with getting your own advantage.

Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand.  

 

Do you want to join me next week and try to be a cheerleader?