SUPERGIRL

 

Psalm 40 (Message Bible):

“More and more people are seeing this: they enter the mystery, abandoning themselves to God. 

Blessed are you who give yourselves over to God, turn your backs on the world's "sure thing," ignore what the world worships; 

The world's a huge stockpile of God-wonders and God-thoughts. Nothing and no one comes close to you!
I start talking about you, telling what I know, and quickly run out of words. Neither numbers nor words account for you. 

Doing something for you, bringing something to you - that's not what you're after.

Being religious, acting pious - that's not what you're asking for.

You've opened my ears so I can listen. 

So I answered, "I'm coming. I read in your letter what you wrote about me, and I'm coming to the party you're throwing for me."

That's when God's Word entered my life, became part of my very being. ‘

I've preached you to the whole congregation, I've kept back nothing, God - you know that. 

I didn't keep the news of your ways a secret, didn't keep it to myself. I told it all, how dependable you are, how thorough. I didn't hold back pieces of love and truth for myself alone. I told it all, let the congregation know the whole story. 

Now God, don't hold out on me, don't hold back your passion. Your love and truth are all that keeps me together.

All who are hunting for you - oh, let them sing and be happy.
Let those who know what you're all about tell the world you're great and not quitting. 

And me? I'm a mess. I'm nothing and have nothing: make something of me.

You can do it; you've got what it takes - but God, don't put it off.”

 

 

We like watching „Supergirl“ on Neflix as a family (The English version for improving our language skills :)) .
Supergirl is a very likeable Superheroine that has yet to find her place in the world. In fact it´s much easier for her, being Supergirl than being Kara Danvers. She wants to find her call and being able to fulfill her destiny as a human being as well. Being human can be harder than being a Superhero!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

("Supergirl" painted by Emely)

 

“You´re blessed when you´re content with just who you are – no more, no less.
That´s the moment you find yourselves proud owners of everything that can´t be bought.” (Matthew 5,5)

 

“If your first concern is to look after yourself, you´ll never find yourself.

But if you forget about yourself and look to me, you´ll find both yourself and me.” (Matthew 10,39)

 

Such a mistery. Such an upside down world in God´s kingdom:

-The last will be the first.

-He who wants to be the first among you, has to be your servant.

-If you do not become like children again.

-Blessed are those who mourn, the poor, those who hunger, who are persecuted, …

-Whoever finds their life will lose it, and whoever loses their life for my sake will find it. (Matthew 10,38)

 

Everything different than expected. Different than what we learned in this world:

-Realize yourself.

-Everybody is looking for his own.

-It´s every man for himself.

-Self realization. Striving for happiness. Developing your own potential.

 

What gives me orientation? What is my motivation?

Do I look on my own self? On that what is still missing for my happiness? Where I want to have success and make a name for myself? Where I want to be better than others, where I want to excel?

Or the other way round: Do I focus on my mistakes and weaknesses that block me and stand in my way of being happy?  

 

Or can I look at God instead of focusing on myself? (Matthew 10)

Can I lift my head and look up from my own button belly and my own feet to the horizon and seek God?

God is so much bigger than my own world. I want to see what He is doing!

That is so much more exciting than my own soap operas of my life, going on forever, repeating the same dramas forever and ever again… The world is so much bigger and adventurous than my own little world!

I want to be part of God´s story. Although He is the main actor and not me.

I want to forget about myself in taking part in this adventure He planned for me. Only then can I be happy.

Loosing myself in Him… and finding Him and myself in a new way!

 

The world is full of God´s wonders! And His love for me is amazing.

I don´t need to get better, although I am not perfect. It´s good the way it is. Good, the way I am.

God loves me so much, without limits or conditions. I may accept that. Be happy. Breath. Sigh. Relax. Be thankful.

I am nothing and have nothing, but God can make something of me! (Psalm 40)

I don´t need to optimize. I am blessed when I ´m content with just who I am (Matthew 5,5)

I have everything that I need. My cup is overflowing. (Psalm 23)

I am a proud owner of everything that can´t be bought. (Matthew 5,5)

Wow!