CAN YOU EAT WORDS?

An old song came to my mind a few days ago:

Fill this cup, Lord! Bless me, Lord!

Come and still this thirst in my soul!

Bread of life nourish ´til no need remains!

Fill this cup, bless me Lord to honor you!

“The Lord is my shepherd, I have all that I need.

…My cup overflows with your blessing!” Psalm 23

 

 

I have all, that I need…

Shortly before the corona crisis started, I started to stock up my food supplies.

Normally I prefer my kitchen in a minimalistic way. That´s why I sorted through and reduced my possessions over the last years. That process led to a kitchen cabinet in the corner that was totally empty for a while. I wanted to get rid of it so that my kitchen would seem lager and airier… but my husband did not cooperate. (Normally he is totally open and helpful to my changing suggestions! J)

Now this cupboard is filled again. We call it the corona-cupboard. Six packages of rice, noodles, beans, corn, tomato-sauce, flour, grain,… Because we are a family of five (and the youngest among us are the ones who eat the most: teenagers!), we use up a lot of those supplies in quite a short time. (We eat half a package of rice in one meal for example.) But I don´t need to do grocery-shopping that often now and I don´t run out of anything. I have everything I need…

Two thoughts come to my mind in this context:

First: Because of the decluttering I created place for things that really matter. Nobody needs a cupboard full of vases and Tupperware in a crisis! The most important stuff in a kitchen is food!

Second: In what do I trust?

In my planning and having everything under control? Am I really in control?

And for how long? I can´t be prepared for everything. We are not self-sufficient and independent. I depend on farmers and grocery-stores, truck deliveries and factories. We are linked and vulnerable.

The government promised, supplies will be sure. Can I trust in this promise? But do I have another option?

God promised to care form me: „Do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear… Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in the barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? (Matthew 6, 25)

 

 

And then I rember Jesus saying he is the bread of life. And that the word of God is much more important to our lives, than bread: “It takes more than bread to stay alive. It takes a steady stream of words from God´s mouth.“ (Matthew 4,4)

What is Word of God? What are words from his mouth?

 His Word creates new things: God speaks and it exists. His word creates something new, even in my life.

His Word is alive. His word makes alive. It even raises the dead! His word can also raise dead things in me!

His Word is sharp, like a sword. It´s my weapon against internal and external assaults.

His Word is a light on my path. It shows me the way and provides security and comfort in the darkness.

His Word is truth. I can rely on it more than on my own thoughts!

The bible is the Word of God. I can read it anytime. The fridge is full!

Jesus is the Word of God. The Word of God became human. And he is living inside of me through his Holy Spirit! His love is poured into my heart, my heart overflows!

Jesus is the bread of life and the living water. – The circle is closed.

In celebrating the Communion, we can eat and drink Jesus symbolically. His body and his blood, that he gave for us, out of love. Bread and vine. Forgiveness of sins. Eternal life!

We are living out of God´s Word. His Word is everything, I need.

I HAVE everything, I need. (Psalm 23)

It´s him, who makes me full.

Here is another song that came to my mind:

“Fill up my cup! Fill up my cup, let it overflow! Let it overflow with love!”